Kogi Deputy Speaker resigns

Lokoja, March 21, 2017 (TNE): The Deputy Speaker of Kogi State House of Assembly, Mr Ali Akuh, on Tuesday resigned from his position, the Nigerian Expression reports.

Although he remains a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), another PDP member of the house, Mr Jimoh Musa  Omiata defected to the APC.

The Nigerian Expression gathered in Lokoja that Akuh’s resignation was a fallout of a major political manoeuvring planned by the ruling APC in Abuja at the weekend.
Akuh’s letter, read by the Speaker, Mr Umar Ahmed Imam, states in part: ”I decided to resign after exhaustive discussions with  my family, my party PDP, the critical stakeholders from my constituency, Omala  Local Government Area; I have decided to throw in the towel as the Deputy Speaker of the sixth Assembly.”
He thanked his colleagues for their support and doggedness to  institutionalise and depeen democracy.
The APC member from Dekina Local Government, Mr Hassan Abdulahi, has been named as the new Deputy Speaker of the house.
His election was made possible by a resolution of the house  signed by 19 out of the 25 members of the house.
The defection of Omiata who is representing Yagba East Constituency brings to seven the total number of PDP members in the house that have defected to the APC in the past one week.
With this development, the APC has emerged as the party with majority members in the house. as it now controls 18 out of the 25 members.

This has necessitated a major shake-up in the leadership of the house with the PDP member from the Ogori-Magongo local government, Mr Godwin Osiyi, emerging as the new Minority Leader.

Others leaders are Hon. Kolawole  Mathew of Kabba/Bunu Constituency Majority Leader,  Hon. Ahmed Mohammed of Ankpa I Constituency , Deputy Majority Leader,  Hon. Bello Hassan Abdullahi of Ajaokuta Constituency, Chief Whip.
Hon. Muktar Adoke Mukhtar of Adavi Constituency, Deputy Chief Whip,  Hon. Oluwatoyin Lawal of Yagba West , Deputy Minority Leader, Hon. Sunday Shigaba of Bassa Constituency , Minority Whip and Hon.  Friday Alih of Ofu Constituency , Deputy Minority Whip.(TNE)
%d bloggers like this: