Osinbajo to swear in new ministers today

Abuja, July 26, 2017 (TNE ): Two ministers-designate, Stephen Ocheni (Kogi) and Suleiman Hassan (Gombe) are to be sworn in today as Federal Executive Council (FEC) members, the Presidency has said.

Presidential spokesman Laolu Akande announced this in his tweeter handle late on Tuesday night, and said that Acting President Yemi Osinbajo would perform the ceremony.

Akande said that the inauguration of the ministers would precede the FEC meeting at the council’s chamber of the Presidential Villa.

“Ag. President Osinbajo would be swearing in the two new ministers already confirmed by the Senate at the start of the Federal Executive Council meeting,’’ he said.

Ocheni and Hassan were confirmed by the Senate in May.

Ocheni replaces the late Minister of State for Labour, Mr James Ocholi, who died in an auto-crash on Kaduna-Abuja highway in 2016, while Hassan takes the place of Amina Mohammed.

Mohammed resigned as Minister of Environment to take up the job of Deputy Secretary-General at the United Nations. (TNE)

%d bloggers like this: