ODSG inaugurates committee on mineral resources, environmental management

Akure, Nov. 14, 2017 (TNE) The Ondo State Government on Tuesday in Akure, inaugurated an eight-man advisory Committee on Mineral Resources and Environmental Management Control.

Inaugurating the committee, Mr Ifedayo Abegunde, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), said the committee’s major task was to advise the Federal Government on mineral and environmental issues affecting the state.

Abegunde said that the committee was also mandated to make necessary recommendations on how to tackle them.

The SSG enjoined members of the committee to work in tandem with the set objectives for the overall development of the economy of the state.

He said there are abundant resources in the state and pledged that the Rotimi Akeredolu-led administration would fulfill its promises to fast-track development and promote investment in the state.

Abegunde said the creation and re-branding of ministries and agencies in the state is to ensure sustainable economic growth and protection of the state from environmental problems.

The SSG commended the Minister of Mines and Steel, Dr Kayode Fayemi, for initiating polices to reposition the solid mineral sector of the country.

Members of the committee are Mr Funso Esan, the state Commissioner for Environment, who serves as the Chairman, and Mr Sofoluke Olatokunbo, who is the Secretary.

Others are Mr Silas Godwin, Mr Abiodun Adara, Mr Olomo Salau, Mr Folahanmi Rotimi, Mr Ogunleye Rotimi and Mr Ajayi Olakunle.

Responding on behalf of the committee, the chairman thanked the state government for the opportunity given them to serve.

Esan promised that the committee would do its work diligently for the benefit of the state government and its citizens.


%d bloggers like this: